One Reason (no pun intended) Why I Like Mark Driscoll

Mark Driscoll appreciates reason.  He is not a fundamentalist.  He is a reasonable person.  It isn’t rare of him to make use of philosophy when he makes a point, which (in my limited experience) is rare for many protestant pastors.  He values things like intellectual consistency.

Take for example this wonderful exchange with Randy Alcorn, the author of one of my favorite books, Pro-Life Answers to Pro-Choice Arguments. In this exchange, Mark Driscoll asks whether or not young, pro-life evangelicals are consistent in their thinking.  Catholic readers will appreciate it greatly, since many of the questions that Mark asks are questions that we are asking about young (and, unfortunately, old) Catholics as well.

One of the greatest defenses of Faith and Reason was the encyclical Fides et Ratio by the late, great John Paul II.  It is, in my opinion, required reading for every Catholic, although it is my belief that evangelicals will find much to appreciate as well.

From the beautiful opening line of the encyclical:

Faith and reason are like two wings on which the human spirit rises to the contemplation of truth; and God has placed in the human heart a desire to know the truth—in a word, to know himself—so that, by knowing and loving God, men and women may also come to the fullness of truth about themselves.

2 comments on “One Reason (no pun intended) Why I Like Mark Driscoll

  1. Anselm says:

    I should like to disagree. Mark Driscoll is not a protestant, he doesn’t use reason to secure his followers but psychological tricks. Not only is he a fundamentalist, he is a creationist, which is incompatibale with being reasonable.

    • zeeehjee says:

      I’m not sure about this. I believe that he is open to reason. He mentions philosophy from time to time and he recognizes the insights that Thomas Aquinas has brought Christianity. So for this reason, I believe he is reasonable. That being said, I agree that he holds some irrational positions. So I guess I would sum up my thoughts by saying that Driscoll likes reason, he just isn’t too good at using it.

Leave a Reply

