Who is Mark Driscoll and Why Does He Need to be Watched?

Mark Driscoll is an alright guy.  Or at least he seems like he’s an alright guy.  According to his Wikipedia page, he was born in North Dakota, a state that I honestly can’t say anything bad about.  Of course, I can’t say anything good about it either.  In fact, I can’t really say anything about it besides that Mark Driscoll was born there.  Mark Driscoll is also a Christian and he is the “Preaching Pastor” of Mars Hill Church in Seattle, which is a place I can say all kinds of good things about.

So thats really all you need to know about Mark Driscoll.  But why did I decide to start a blog about the man?  Really for one reason only.  Because as a Roman Catholic who has friends who attend the Church, I can’t stand to listen to how he misrepresents my Church.  His people at Mars Hill deserve a pastor who is going to take seriously what the largest Christian Church in the world believes, not ridicule them and misrepresent them with straw man arguments.

So here is what I plan to do.  I plan to go through all content that Pastor Driscoll has written or said about the Catholic Church and explain why he has misrepresented it.  I will then attempt to explain all the doctrines with the seriousness that they deserve (and maybe I’ll even point out a thing or two he says that I like!).  I do not wish to do this all alone, and hope I can convince a few of my friends to join me.

I’d like to make a special invitation to any Mars Hill Church members to comment and ask questions about this site.  I hope to answer any questions you may have about the Church that Jesus Christ himself started.  I love Jesus Christ, I love that he gave me a Church that gave me so much, and I don’t want to hog it all for myself.  There is plenty here for everybody, and I pray for the day when we will all be united in truth, worship, and action that our Lord wants from us.

God Bless you all, and enjoy!

The Management

4 comments on “Who is Mark Driscoll and Why Does He Need to be Watched?

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Daron says:

    “church that Jesus Christ himself started” — do you say that as in an all inclusive statement like it was “Jesus Christ who started all churches” or in the exclusive statement often said by Catholics that Jesus started the Catholic church and man started the rest?

    • zeeehjee says:

      Daron,

      Welcome to DriscollWatch! And thanks for the comment!

      Very good question. Many times, as I’m sure you know well, Catholic and Protestant Christians use many of the same words but have very different meanings. Church is one of those words.

      First of all, Jesus Christ only began one Church. In Matthew 16 he tells Peter, “… I will build my Church.” Jesus uses a singular word here. He does not say Churches. In John’s Gospel (Chapter 17) Jesus prays that his people may all be one. St. Paul drills this point home Ephesians 4 when he says that there is “one Lord, one faith and one baptism.” So as a Catholic, I affirm the witness of scripture that says there is only one Church.

      So which Church is this? Obviously, I believe its the Catholic Church. If I believed it was a different Church, I would join that Church out of obedience to Christ. Another Mark of the Church is apostolic succession. The Catholic and Orthodox Churches and some mainline protestant churches claim that authority has been passed down through the centuries by the laying on of hands. In that sense, we can call these groups churches. If there is no apostolic succession, then man began it.

      But, Christians of these communities without apostolic succession are still united to the Church through baptism, provided that they celebrate the sacrament properly.

Leave a Reply

